StarCom Racing Confirms Team Closing Following 2021 Season

StarCom Racing has confirmed on Twitter that the team has sold its Charter for the 2022 season and will close down following this weekend’s race at Phoenix Raceway.

The team made its debut at Kansas Speedway in 2017 with team owner Derrike Cope where the team finished 40th in the race after only completing 35 laps.

StarCom had eight different drivers over the five seasons in the sport, including Derrike Cope, Landon Cassill, Tomy Drissi, Jeffrey Earnhardt, Joey Gase, Gray Gaulding, Garrett Smithley, Kyle Weatherman, and Quin Houff, who raced for the team full-time in 2020 and 2021.

The team will finish with 164 starts in the NASCAR Cup Series, racing the No. 00 and No. 99. Before this weekend’s race at Phoenix, the team has earned no wins, top 5’s, top 10’s, or pole positions. Their average finishing position was 31st.

The team earned its Charter from Richard Childress Racing in 2018 after the closure of the No. 27 car with driver Paul Menard. Their Charter’s expected to move to GMS Racing’s new No. 94 team with Ty Dillon in 2022.